Preparing for the Reopening of Schools

As a parent, distance learning with my two sons has not been a walk in the park. I think a lot of parents can agree with me on that. But, after almost one year has passed since schools have been closed in Los Angeles, I have adjusted, just as my kids have, and our home has been our safe haven. I know they are safe and they…. well… pretty much LOVE being at home.

Now, with all the talks about reopening, it has gotten me with all kinds of emotions. First, is it too premature? I hear of schools reopening around the world and having to close again when there is an outbreak. I don’t think any time will be right to be honest. We have been pushed into this new norm and what use to be our comfort zones in daily routines of school and markets and shopping have been thrown into zones less recognizable. On that note, imagine our kids, being safe at home, to go back to school to the same buildings yet everyone masked up, social distancing, tables more far apart, and having to make sure they walk in lines and not against opposing traffic. It is not going back to the school they knew. It is going back to a school that needs healing. It is a new reality that your kids will need to face, hopefully make them stronger, but will also make them feel emotions too.

When the day does come, I just want to make sure my kids and everyone else’s are prepared for the changes. I want them to know that things are different and it’s okay. Things change and we have to adapt. I want them to know things WILL get better slowly and as long as we work together, that we will get through it together. Kids are so resilient but a lot of them still don’t know how to communicate their feelings or even realize what they are feeling. Prepare them, talk about what they should expect when they go back before the day comes, be gentle with them, and check up on them always.

I made these printables because although we are really great about putting up lots of signs now, on the walls, on the floors and anywhere else you can think of, I want these signs to also be reassuring to kids and let them know that there is light at the end of the tunnel just like with any situation they will face in life. I pray for all the kids to go back with joy to see their friends in person and to share quarantine stories. I also pray that there is no division, segregation, or uneducated behaviors towards anyone or any race. If we can teach our kids to treat everyone the same, then we definitely will have a better future to look forward to, in health and in humanity. Stay safe and united everyone.

School COVID Health Safety Signs
School COVID Health Safety Signs

Leave a comment