The 10 Best Holiday Traditions for the Family

Every year I love continuing holiday traditions with my family but also finding new ones. I wanted to share some oldies and goodies but also new ones that my mommy friends have shared with me.

  1. Advent Calendars – I go with framed ones that don’t give you a cavity and also can be used and reused. These framed ones are stylish and you can also use them as a calendar for upcoming events and writing down good deeds or things to be grateful for.

2. Gingerbread House and Cookie Kits – My kids love doing these! Even my older kids and now they have so many different types and themes.

Here are a couple of my favorite:

An entire Gingerbread House and Mini Village Kit

Candy Land Gingerbread House Kit

Gingerbread Cookie Kit

3. Holiday Scavenger Hunt – I have never done these but they truly have been such a hit since quarantine. I did it for Halloween and my kids had a blast so I am doing it for Thanksgiving and Christmas!

https://www.ladesignboutique.com/collections/holiday/products/thanksgiving-scavenger-hunt-fall-09066
https://www.ladesignboutique.com/collections/holiday/products/christmas-scavenger-hunt-christmas-29351

4. Christmas Movie Nights – Always a hit and the fact that the kids don’t have school makes it so much enjoyable when they know they can stay up later. Snack favorites are popcorn and hot chocolate with marshmallows. Their favorite movies are all the Home Alone ones! Needless to say, they are boys. LOL Other goodies are Santa Clause, Miracle on 34th, Jingle All the Way and Christmas Carol.

5. Good deeds – I always like to have the kids pick a toy themselves to donate to the toy drives. We also create little care packages for the homeless that include soap, water, granola bars, nuts, chocolate and a special note.

6. Decorating – Of course the biggest thing is decorating together!

7. Cooking – Since my kids are getting older, I do want to include them more in the cooking of Christmas dinner but also throughout the break and hopefully on a regular basis. I truly believe the kitchen and the dinner table is the most important place to unite.

8. Elf on the Shelf – I actually am late on this and have not tried this! I always felt like I didn’t have time to keep up with it but might give it a try this year. Feel free to share your thoughts on it.

9. Christmas music – Okay I know I am going to get mixed reviews on this one. Some people cringe at the idea of 24/7 holiday music starting on November 1st. I like to start playing the holiday music at Thanksgiving and definitely put it on in the car when we are out and about.

10. Last but not least, a bucket list! The year is coming to an end and I like sitting everyone down and thinking about what we want to do in the new year. It allows the kids to reflect on the year and think about their goals for the new year and hopefully make it a life lesson. Sometimes they will be able to achieve them and sometimes they won’t but the important thing is that we do our best and we make the most of a situation even if it doesn’t go as planned. Make sure to write it all down and post it somewhere so everyone is reminded.

Feel free to share your own traditions! Have a peaceful and joyful holiday everyone!

Leave a comment